Home > Uncategorized > Jason’s Law and murder trial begins

Jason’s Law and murder trial begins

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.

On Monday the murder trial begins for the truck driver that was murdered in March of this year, Jason Rivenburg. Jason was not just a “truck driver” but a family man like most of you reading this, he had a wife expecting twins any day and a 2 year old son waiting on him to return safely at home but never did.
Jason’s life ended prematurely as he was on the phone with one of his friends and cleaning the dashboard in his truck waiting to get the load of organic milk unloaded at an abandoned gas station that was frequented by other truckers.  Interstate 26 at exit 136 in Calhoun County, South Carolina.
Willie Pelzer, age 21 at the time was already on probation for grand theft larceny when the trigger was pulled to end and rob Jason of $7.00, the murderer was so smart he left a couple hundreds bucks, credit cards and fuel cards in Jason’s pants pocket. Then tried to hide the weapon with Jimmy Haygood who called the police the day before Jason was found to report the .45 cal gun stolen. The next day someone who passed by twice alerted authorities because they passed by twice and noticed the truck’s interior light was on. Authories arrived found Jason along with .45 cal shell casings on the ground. The gun belonged to their friend Willie Reed who is being charged with Accesory, Jimmy Haygood it charged with the same thing.
The Rivenburg family has since started Jason’s Law im hopes to keep other drivers safe, even if it saves one life it is worth it. Something needs to be done and now. We all keep saying that and instead of wasting your breath talking about it, contact your state representatives and tell them how you feel. Tell them about your truck parking experiences and anything else that will stick in their mind. Let them know you do not want to leave your family behind because there is NO safe place to park. At the the begining of the month a KLLM driver was killed in the town he lives in while waiting to unload, he was shot in the back. Several other drivers were killed the past few months as well while doing their jobs.
I ask everyone to contact the state representatives whether you drive or not, call them, it’s not even a task you have to get off your butt to do. If you do not know how to do it I will write the letter for you, look up the phone numbers for you reps just send me your zip code.
The next week while the trial is going on please keep Hope and her family in your thoughts and prayers as they seek answers to their questions and find out things they probably do not even want to know in the last minutes of Jason’s life. I speak to Hope on a regular basis, although I have never met her I still feel closer to her than most of the family members in my life. I have never been through what she is going through but I hear the tears in her voice, the fear and emotional pain she is going through. I will do everything in my power to help her in anyway that I can. I know things about the murder that I will not repeat and cannot because it truly breaks my heart. Next week while the trial is going on I will keep everyone updated on the things that I can as Hope calls me, but I will not call because she needs her space. I am nervous for her and cannot imagine what she is going through. I hope everything goes well and justice will be served. Justice for Jason!
Danielle
THANK YOU COSPONSORS!!!
4/28/2009–Introduced.
Jason’s Law – Directs the Secretary of Transportation to: (1) implement a pilot program to allocate funds to states, metropolitan planning organizations, and local governments that submit an application approved by the Secretary for eligible projects to establish long-term parking facilities for commercial motor vehicles (trucks) on the National Highway System; and (2) give priority to applicants that demonstrate a severe shortage of truck parking capacity and whose proposed projects are likely to have positive effects on highway safety, traffic congestion, or air quality.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

